May 14, 2017

I’m sending this a day early to remind you that today you have two very fun kid lit options in store for you.  You can head over to the State House from 2-4pm to meet the authors and get a free copy of this year’s Kids Read Across RI title. It is a fun-filled event with lots of book-related activities to experience. I had the chance to hear Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan speak about their collaborative writing process last night, and I was very moved by their joy and respect for one another. I wish your family that same opportunity this afternoon!

Save Me a Seat, (2016)

by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan

savemeaseat

Goodreads summary: Joe and Ravi might be from very different places, but they’re both stuck in the same place: SCHOOL.

Joe’s lived in the same town all his life, and was doing just fine until his best friends moved away and left him on his own.

Ravi’s family just moved to America from India, and he’s finding it pretty hard to figure out where he fits in.

Joe and Ravi don’t think they have anything in common — but soon enough they have a common enemy (the biggest bully in their class) and a common mission: to take control of their lives over the course of a single crazy week.

Watch a Save Me a Seat book trailer.

markparisi

You also have the opportunity to meet author Mark Parisi  on his Marty Pants book tour at Jeff Kinney’s bookstore, An Unlikely Story, today at 4pm. Follow this link to secure your free tickets to this event.

Watch our own Emma’s book trailer for Marty Pants.

This is a brand new graphic novel we have added to our library.  I know it will make its way into our readers’ hearts.

Invisible Emmie, (2017)

by Terri Libenson

invisibleemmie

Goodreads summary: Debut graphic novel that tells the story of two totally different girls—

quiet, shy, artistic Emmie

popular, outgoing, athletic Katie

—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands.

Meet Terri Libenson and learn how to draw Emmie.

We have also recently added a new hybrid to our collection.  This silly cover alone will capture our readers.

Gnome-a-geddon, (2017)

by K.A. Holt

gnomeageddon

Goodreads summary: Buck discovers that his favorite book series might be less fictional than he thought in this delightful middle grade adventure.

Harry Potter. Percy Jackson. Custard the Gnome.

Buck is a super fan of the book series, The Triumphant Gnome Syndicate. He knows all the trivia. The properties of the Troll Vanquishing Mace, and even what kind of snack Custard, the Gnome of the West, prefers. But when the book’s author disappears in a cloud of smoke at the release party for book three, and Buck’s little sister disappears into a bottomless dumpster, Buck realizes that the world of gnomes and trolls might really exist. What the heck?

As it turns out, the real Custard (don’t call him that) needs Buck’s help to find the Troll Vanquishing Mace. And Buck needs to find his sister. So Buck and his best friend Lizzie set off on an adventure that would make any fan’s head spin. But not everything is as Buck expected—it seems the books did not tell the whole truth about this not-so-make-believe world. Buck soon discovers that real life doesn’t work like a story, and the heroes and villains might not be who they seem. Holy trolls! What’s a super fan to do?

Buck is about to fulfill the ultimate fantasy: going on adventures with his favorite characters, and getting the chance to save the world. Assuming he can figure out whose side he’s really on.

Check out author K.A. Holt’s website.

I am chomping at the bit to get my hands on this title. I just won a Barrington Books gift certificate in a Barrington Little League raffle so this will be on our library shelves soon!

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground, (2017)

by Rita Williams-Garcia

claytonbyrd.jpg

Goodreads summary: From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

Watch the Clayton Byrd Goes Underground book trailer.

Our Next Generation Science Standards include studying how humans impact the environment. I thought this next title would be perfect to support our science curriculum.

Birds vs. Blades: Offshore Wind Power and the Race to Protect Seabirds, (2016)

by Rebecca Hirsch

birdsvsblades

Goodreads summary: Find out how scientists are working to ensure that the promise of clean, renewable offshore wind power won’t spell disaster for the millions of seabirds that play a critical role in the ocean food web.

Learn more about the world’s first wind farm.

This last one is for your pure reading pleasure.

Bob, Not Bob!: *to be read as if you have the worst cold ever,  (2017)

words by Liz Garton Scanlon & Audrey Vernick and pictures by Matthew Cordell

bobnotbob

Goodreads summary: Little Louie is stuck in bed with a bad cold. His nose is clogged, his ears are crackling, and his brain feels full. All he wants is his mom to take care of him, but whenever he calls out for her, his stuffed-up nose summons slobbery dog Bob instead! As Louie tries and tries to make himself understood in this funny picturebook, kids will love calling out with him, “Bob, not Bob!”

Watch the Bob, Not Bob! book trailer.

Finally, I want to congratulate four of our fourth graders who were recognized this week by Kate Lenz, director of the RI Center for the Book, for their outstanding Letters About Literature, a contest through the Library of Congress. Three of our students were Level 1 Semi-Finalists and one of our students was the Level 1 Winner for the state! I should add that the Level 1 category is for students in grades 4-6. We are all so proud of these amazing writers!

20170511_085848.jpg

 20170511_085357

20170511_085349.jpg

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s