January 1, 2017

Happy new year! I have taken two weeks off from book bites to be totally present with my family.  However, I cannot resist sharing some “best of” lists from the Nerdy Book Club.  The Nerdy Book Club is for anyone who loves children’s literature.  I have met amazing people -educators, librarians, authors and illustrators – and count my blessings each day to learn from all of them.  In December they opened the nomination ballot for the “Nerdies” – the Nerdy Book Club’s annual people’s choice awards. In the words of Donalyn Miller, “the Nerdies honor the new children’s and young adults’ titles that teachers, librarians, authors, booksellers, caretakers, and most of all, young people, have loved reading this year.”

The ballot included the following categories.  Click on each to see the winners (two categories have not been announced as I send this post to you. I will add the links as they are announced).  And open a tab for the public library to start placing holds!

Picture Books: Fiction

Picture Books: Nonfiction

Early Readers/ Chapter Books

Graphic Novels

Poetry and Novels in Verse

MG/YA Nonfiction

Middle Grade Fiction

Young Adult Fiction part 1

Young Adult Fiction part 2

On December 27 the first category was announced and each day since I’ve been anxiously awaiting the results.  A lot of my favorites made it on the lists and some did not.

It is a thrill to see books celebrated in this way! I hope you enjoy the results as much as I did. You will see that 2016 was an incredible year for books.  Here’s looking forward to what new amazing titles 2017 has in store for us!

Happy reading,

Mrs. Melanie Roy

Leave a Reply

