November 13, 2016

This week is all about possible award winners and blob fish!

Speaking of awards, if there was an award for the most loyal dog in kid lit, this 2017 RICBA nominee would probably win.

honesttruth

The Honest Truth, (2015)

by Dan Gemeinhart

Goodreads summary: In all the ways that matter, Mark is a normal kid. He’s got a dog named Beau and a best friend, Jessie. He likes to take photos and write haiku poems in his notebook. He dreams of climbing a mountain one day.

But in one important way, Mark is not like other kids at all. Mark is sick. The kind of sick that means hospitals. And treatments. The kind of sick some people never get better from.

So Mark runs away. He leaves home with his camera, his notebook, his dog, and a plan to reach the top of Mount Rainier–even if it’s the last thing he ever does.

The Honest Truth is a rare and extraordinary novel about big questions, small moments, and the incredible journey of the human spirit.

Watch a book trailer for The Honest Truth here.

Read an interview with Dan Gemeinhart here.

A friend handed me the advanced reader copy of this book over the summer and I devoured it in 24 hours.  As a lifelong worrier, I could identify with the main character. It is a Mock Newbery title for our school.

worldfromuphere

The World From Up Here, (2016)

by Cecilia Galante

Goodreads summary: From the award-winning author of The Patron Saint of Butterflies comes a story about the courage it takes to face your biggest fears.

Wren Baker has never felt brave a day in her life. She doesn’t even know what she’s afraid of, really. Only that if she raises her voice or leaves her mark or ventures too far from home, she’ll risk falling flat on her face.

But that all changes when Wren’s cousin Silver walks into her life. Silver is totally fearless. Maybe that’s why she’s the most popular girl in the sixth grade. She dares Wren to take risks, to live out loud, to finally spread her wings. So when Silver decides to break all the rules, Wren is forced to make a choice: Is she in or is she out?

There’s only one way Wren will ever learn to fly. It’s time for her to stand at the edge of the unknown . . . and jump.

Full of heartache and hope, The World From Up Here is a tender, moving story about old secrets, new friendships, and what it means to face the things that scare us most.

Read an interview with Cecilia Galante here.

This next book is also on our HMS Mock Newbery list.  I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet but the reviews have intrigued me.

charmedchildren

The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle, (2016)

by Janet Fox

Goodreads summary: Something is not right at Rookskill Castle, a rundown Scottish manor shrouded in mystery. The castle is a temporary boarding school for children escaping the Blitz, but soon it’s clear there is something terribly wrong. There are clues hinting that a spy is in the house, and there are undeniable signs of a sinister magic. When the children in the castle’s temporary boarding school begin disappearing one by one, it’s a race against the clock for twelve-year-old Kat Bateson, her two younger siblings, and their new best friend.

Watch the book trailer here.

Check out the Rookskill Castle website here.

Read an interview with agent Erin Murphy about The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle here.

A lot of our students prefer to read nonfiction. This one’s for them.

pinkisforblobfish

Pink is for Blobfish: Discovering the World’s Perfectly Pink Animals, (2016)

by Jess Keating

Goodreads summary: Pinkalicious meets National Geographic in this nonfiction picture book introducing the weirdest, wildest, pinkest critters in the animal kingdom!

Some people think pink is a pretty color. A fluffy, sparkly, princess-y color. But it’s so much more.
Sure, pink is the color of princesses and bubblegum, but it’s also the color of monster slugs and poisonous insects. Not to mention ultra-intelligent dolphins, naked mole rats and bizarre, bloated blobfish.

Isn’t it about time to rethink pink?

Slip on your rose-colored glasses and take a walk on the wild side with zoologist Jess Keating, author of How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied, and cartoonist David DeGrand.

Watch the Pink is for Blobfish book trailer here.

Read an interview with Jess Keating here.

And here is one more nonfiction read about blobfish.

blobfish

The Blobfish Book, (2016)

by Jessica Olien

Goodreads summary: Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for Moose, this irresistible book within a book introduces us to Blobfish, known as the “ugliest fish in the sea”…or is he actually the fish who will steal our hearts?

Did you know that the deepest parts of the ocean are over one mile deep—too far down for any sunlight to reach? That’s where Blobfish lives. But this book isn’t about Blobfish…or is it?

This true (clever) story about the (misunderstood) Blobfish is sure to make you smile. Full of fun facts about sea creatures in the deepest reaches of the ocean, this book is perfect for any science lover. From Jessica Olien, the author/illustrator of Shark Detective.

Check out Jessica Olien’s website here.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s